Party of Four

Now that it’s practically mid July, I suppose I should toss a very unorganized, newborn-in-the-house-brained post on up in here and leave my worries of tidy-wrapped-in-a-bow blogging behind! See, look how awful that was… but hey, somebody else is wearing all the bows in the house right now so let me just stop caring completely! 


First weeks are hard, but we made it through and are well on our way to two weeks! Time is flying and dragging and our days are filled to capacity with diapers, hotdogs, and laundry. It’s so good though. Today, I think I changed about ten dirty diapers and I’m STILL smiling. It’s hard to be upset about the amount of (I’m going to go ahead and be honest here) poop in the house when there is also an over abundance of cuddles, snuggles, “I love yous,” handshakes accompanied by “pleased to meet yous,” smiles, and giggles. But objectively, there are a LOT of diapers going on in this house–look out!


Eliot is in a terrible, horrible, most awful sleep regression of them all. We make a step forward and then seem to take two steps back. I’ll never forget what my priest (a convert with his own kids in diapers now too) said; either your kid is a good sleeper or he’s not. Optimistic, new mother Hannah felt sad at the slight tone of bitterness and exhaustion heard in his tone, because surely if you worked hard enough, you could make that kid sleep well!! Many sleep methods later, older, wiser Hannah now features that same exhausted and honest tone and tries to keep a good nature about it. Daniel has the worst of it–he takes care of the toddler at night and I take care of the infant. One day, maybe when he’s eighteen, Eliot will sleep like a baby and we won’t be traipsing about all night to and from his room. The good news is, Joan is a wonder at the nursing and the sleeping (further proving father’s statement). I’m enjoying this newborn time way more with such an easy baby.


In addition to the regression, Eliot talks up a storm now. He’s currently yelling, “oh no, it crashed!” while holding tightly onto his favorite hotwheel car. He says, “I’m sorry Ma!” And “I wanna pull!” when he wants us to get up and follow him somewhere (this is accompanied by grabbing our hands). He also says, “it’s okay baby jo” when she fusses for diaper changes. He doesn’t sing often but when he does, it’s the cleanup song from Daniel Tiger. Cutest thing ever. “Clean-up E-ver-y-DAY!”


I’ve managed to crochet a baptismal gown for Joan but I need to add notions to it. A few buttons and some pretty ribbon will finish it off! I attempted to buy one on Offer Up but the guy wouldn’t keep up communication and we were left hanging one too many times. The same thing is happening with some woman and a Mei Tai baby wrap this week which frustrates me to no end. Such is buying second hand. I guess you pay for the no-hassle when you buy retail. 


Daniel and I started watching Downton Abbey this week after many failed attempts of mine to try to get into it. I’m enjoying it more now for some reason. Maybe it’s the newborn I get to cuddle and the few tiny adult moments I get to share with my spouse in this busy time more than the show… Daniel is desperately trying to get Eliot to call it “down town abbey” to annoy me…


I’m starting to realize why schedules are so important now that we are a family of four! There’s so much to do with one extra person in our home and less brain power to remember things. I really do feel like I run on coffee. It’s not just a cute, trendy thing to say. 

Quick snapshot during early labor with my little baby becoming my big baby!


It’s a good life. Stress or chaos will always be around. But I don’t let it bother me nearly as much anymore, and I’m finding myself contented to watch babies all day and greet my hubby in the evening. This staying at home mom business definitely suits me, and I really feel like it’s the environment that allows me to thrive. I’m so thankful to get to stay at home with my babes. 

2 thoughts on “Party of Four

    • Thanks, Jen! I’m missing my regular crochet too though, special projects don’t count for me because they aren’t as relaxing for some reason. 🙂 I have too many works in progress…

Let's get the Conversation Started...

