Thoughts on Spring


You always hear about people who love fall. It’s a religion to some, fodder for comedy, great marketing for corporations, but there is something about the anticipation that comes with autumn. Advent, Christmas, the end of some things, the beginning of others. There is a feeling of accomplishing your goals and finishing the race, and it isn’t just about jumping in leaves and drinking pumpkin flavored things. I’ve loved fall all of my life, but as I grow older, I’m learning to love a new season, as much as it pains me to be in chilly weather. I’m not writing about winter, rather, I’m writing about spring.

Of course there are the cons, as with any season–allergies, swampy weather, the busy beginning of the new year… if you’re like me, you might not be a fan of temperatures below 68 degrees Fahrenheit (even that is a light sweater!). I’m a Texan, you’ll have to forgive me (that should be our state’s slogan). Anyway, back to it, I think I’m loving spring more every year because it brings such newness, life, and hope! 

Recently, I was rocking my son to sleep and praying. I was meditating on the mystery of the resurrection in the warm, soft sunlight streaming through the window, and it just hit me like a load of bricks that spring is meant to remind us of the hope of the resurrection! It’s not a coincidence that we celebrate Easter time in the springtime. 

The sunshine comes down and coaxes life into the cold, hard ground. Into the old bones of the trees. Into the frozen bodies of water. It makes the rivers run again, it makes the flowers bloom, and it gently beckons the animals forth from their dens, and allows them the season to bring more life into the world. Just as the sunshine with the trees and the rivers, Jesus–his resurrection– brings life into our stone cold hearts, and beckons us to bring forth life in our spirits! 

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

Is that not the cry of our hearts at Easter? Is it not the time we choose to give things up and take on more holiness in our spiritual lives? A natural season, when we realize the ultimate sacrifice has been made. It is a natural season for newness, and cleanliness. 

We participate in spring cleaning and clear out the clutter in our homes and lives, and it is what the Lenten season helps us to do in our inner lives as well. Clean up our acts, clear out the sin, beg for mercy, ask for God to shine brighter within us. 

Spring is the season we have been gifted to use for new life, in that natural way that we see the earth around us use it. The rains come and wash everything dead and old away to make room for growth and mercy comes down to cleanse our souls. I’m going to RCIA every week and witnessing the beautiful people who will enter the Church come Easter Vigil. Imagine the newness, or if you’re like me, remember the newness that confirmation brings. 

The older I get, the more appreciative I am of the seasons and their natural guidance. I’m thankful for the Church year and the rhythms and routines that we’ve been given! What’s you’re favorite season, and why?

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Spring

  1. This post just reminded me of a conversation with a dear friend and amazing holy woman I used to be house-mates with, she was from Australia, and remarked that at her first experience of the seasons in our northern hemisphere she was so struck with how they “fit” the liturgical calendar… “Oh THIS is why the baby chicks and bunnies with Easter…. because spring!!” she had also never experienced seeing trees that truly shed ALL their leaves (she thought all the trees got a strange diesease and were dying…I guess they dont have to do that in warm Aussie) but it struck her profoundly as being a sign of the resurrection to see the “dead” trees come back to life with new leaves around Easter time

    • They really do fit! So glad we have the liturgical year! I don’t know what it’s like in Australia, but spring in Texas is pretty short lived. But I’m doing my best to notice the little things that have changed in the season (LOVE the birds singing) and we’ve been blessed with some beautiful spring weather these last couple of weeks. I know January is still early but I’m an optimist! Haha

Let's get the Conversation Started...

