Just Another Book List

I’ve been terrible, since reaching adulthood, about getting books read. I love finishing a book and diving into stories, reflections, and wordy goodness, but I just get way too distracted these days. Between Netflix, my phone and its many enticing apps, and now a clingy, curious baby, I just can’t seem to get past the first few chapters.

However, not even trying is just giving up before I’ve even begun. So I thought I would jot down some books that I want to read and hopefully 2016 will help me along. Maybe you guys could help! You know, nag me whenever you see me or speak to me, and tell me I can do it! Distracted Book Lovers Anonymous should be a thing.

Memoirs:

My Life in France by Julia ChildThis book is quite different than the books I typically read, but it looked so interesting and came with a trustworthy recommendation from a friend. On New Years Eve, Daniel and I went to a book white elephant party, and this is the one I got to take home with me!

Devotionals/Spiritual Reads:

The Rosary: “The Little Summa” by Robert Feeney – I bought an older edition at Half Price so it’s a bit dated, but so far it’s FANTASTIC! It’s very readable and has already been helping me where the Rosary is concerned. 

Walking with Purpose by Lisa BreninkmeyerThis is the one I started for the mother’s group that I’m a part of and so far, it’s been extremely helpful and easy to read! It’s nice to know I’ll finish this one for sure, since I’m reading it with a bunch of other moms and discussing it.

A Mother’s Rule of Life: How to Bring Order to Your Home and Peace to Your Soul by Holly PierlotThis is one that a close friend of our family gave to us in a bag of books and cds from her home library. They all look like pretty scrumptious reads, but this one jumped out at me first. 

Fiction:

Dust by Hugh HoweyLast year, Daniel and I read Wool and Shift, two other books in the Silo saga, and LOVED them. Deep down, I’m still the nerd that was raised with a bunch of brothers and boy cousins, and so sci-fi is still my thing. These books are full of mystery, creepiness, good characters, and an interesting world, not too difficult to imagine! Daniel and I first began reading Wool to each other but when our voices started getting hoarse (or I started getting contractions from reading aloud–so many false labor contractions), we switched to an audio book on Audible. 

The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann Wyss – I need to finish this one from last year as I started it shortly after Eliot was born. I’ve been reading it to him during his nursing and enjoying the story again! My parents read this to us as kids, and I remember loving it then, but what is striking me about it this time around is just how perfect of a book this is for boys! It’s all about survival, ingenuity, adaptability, creativity, and the outdoors, and I just love how the family always remembers to gather for prayer and thanks throughout the book! 

 

Six Books to finish in 2016… That doesn’t seem too bad! But honestly, I can start sixty books, it’s just the finishing of them that causes me to fail, so maybe starting small is a good idea. Are you a sporadic reader too? What books are you tackling in 2016?

6 thoughts on “Just Another Book List

  1. I totally identify with this. It’s especially difficult for me since I always forget that I enjoy reading. It wasn’t until about seventh grade that I actually started reading for pleasure, so I always get caught up in the mentality that I don’t actually enjoy reading. Big. Fat. Lie. When I was subbing, it was ea to read a ton because I just sat at a desk all day while kids watched movies or completed assignments. However, when I was actually responsible for teaching for three months, I didn’t have time to read during the day and by the time I got home I had to clean or cook as soon as I walked in the door if I wanted to be in bed by 9 or 10. Now I have lots of time to read!!! I definitely want to finish the Harry Potter series (since I stopped midway through the Goblet of Fire in September). Then I think I’d like to find some saint books…not sure which ones. I also need to finish the Never ending Story. Joe and I started it this summer and then we stopped once we were both working. I really love it and need to pick it back up . good luck with your reading list!! Let me know if any of your choices are worth a read!

    • I loved listening to the Harry potter series because then I could wash dishes or draw or clean while I read. I really love listening to books for that reason, but reading definitely develops my processing skills more.

  2. A Mother’s Rule of Life has changed my life! I’ve read it a few times already. (But I should warn you, don’t get caught up with the schedule thing, unless your personality goes along with that…just focus on the 5 P’s. You’ll know what I mean.)

Let's get the Conversation Started...

