A Chapter in the Life (Ch. 16)

Great Reads

Seven Things I Don’t Do With a Newborn (Anymore) – Catholic All Year – Very insightful and helpful and it actually echoes a lot of what my own mom and aunt have been sharing with me about their newborn experiences. Kendra just had her eighth baby and has a lot of wisdom to share!

A Few Lessons from Eight Years of Breastfeeding – Better Than Eden – Everything Mary writes is wonderful and she was one of the minds I wanted to jump into right away after I found out I was expecting Eliot. Her advice has been a tremendous help in my journey into motherhood! This one was really encouraging for me in my first few months of breastfeeding.

NFP Should Be a Part of Parish Life – Carrots for Michaelmas – Haley’s thoughts mirror my own on this and I actually just had this same conversation with the priest that I went through RCIA with when I converted. NFP is very much on my mind these days as I transition into postpartum NFP for the first time.

Family News

Whales — It’s been such a long time since I’ve posted a Chapter in the Life post! The last one was at the end of May and it feels like a year’s worth of events have been crammed into the months since then. Pretty much from early June until the middle of June, I sat on my couch and enjoyed whaling. (Not wailing, mind you, that didn’t happen until the two weeks prior to my labor.) I went whaling as in the virtual ocean on the Xbox thanks to many games that kept me occupied. I nerded out for three weeks or so and didn’t do much but bake cookies and play my pirate game so that I could go whaling. Daniel participated in whaling of a different kind… He spent the hours that I wasted my brain away on the Xbox reading Moby Dick, and becoming a smarty! Following all of the whaling of different kinds, we both went to Target and bough a whale mobile for Eliot who finally made his appearance on June 23rd. Then after the whales came and went and Eliot arrived, life got C R A Z Y.

Sleep — I wrote about the things I wanted to remember pertaining to Eliot’s arrival but not about the four day stay in the hospital at the NICU because of certain events (who wants to remember the scary parts? Not me… It’s all about perspective!) But the four day stay did happen, and it was part of the craziness. We finally got to go home and after enough visitors in the first couple weeks to make my head spin (I actually don’t remember who visited because of newborn sleep schedule) we rested and got to know our little one. He decided to have a flip flop sleep schedule too, and got his nights and days confused (oh, how he is my son). After four weeks, he was finally sleeping the majority of his bigger chunks of time at night and we celebrated!

baptismeliot

Baptism and Car — And then, at five weeks postpartum, we had Eliot baptized and then decided to visit my family at home and let everyone meet the little guy. The baptism was wonderful and such an experience for two converts and first time parents! We drove and stopped and nursed and repeated that throughout the four hour drive home and after a night’s rest at my parents, we took my husband’s grandfather out to lunch. It was on the drive back to my parents (five minutes away) that we had a wreck and our car was totaled. Thankfully, the gentleman that hit us is a wonderful man that my parents actually know and so dealing with the event has been easier than it could have been! Everyone was all right, except for some frayed nerves exploding into tears in the McDonald’s from a hormonal mother with a five week old while strangers approached to pat her back and tell her it was all okay. Everybody has a meltdown in a fast food restaurant at some point in their life, right?

School, Friends, and Paperwork — We stayed in town a little longer than we planned and we got home in time for Daniel to deal with craziness at his job and then for all of the school preparations to begin for this semester. Always insane. We then had some close friends come and visit us right after they got engaged and it was the good kind of crazy! All the while, we were digging through mounds of paperwork to try to find our car’s title which had been misfiled. We were just about to give up and deal with having to file for a new one to give to the insurance company when I locked myself in the closet praying that I would find it and pulling everything out of every nook and cranny. My prayers were answered and I presented the troublesome paper to Daniel who then dealt with getting it sent in! We still don’t have our new car yet, but hope to have it within the next few days.

Whew! I think that ends the stressful (and probably boring) saga of the last few weeks. This last week, I’ve been enjoying snuggles and smiles from Eliot, watching the ending of The Office, and listening to Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (which I never finished reading) while surfing Pinterest for hairstyles that I will show my stylist come Saturday. Yay for the haircut that I had hoped to already have two weeks postpartum!

DIY

eliotnewhat

I finished Eliot’s little sack hat that I was working on (pictured above) right before he was born and just in time since it almost doesn’t fit him anymore. I did braids on this one instead of pompoms and really love how it turned out! The braids were difficult to attach so if I make another one, I’ll have to figure out a more efficient way to attach them. It’s such an easy pattern though! I bet little bear ears would look cute too.

Thanks for reading another Chapter in a Life post! Don’t forget that you can find me on Pinterest if you fancy and you can always shoot me an email at hannahsalisbury@outlook.com. I’d love to hear from you!

Peace be with you,

Hannah

4 thoughts on “A Chapter in the Life (Ch. 16)

  1. Oh My gosh! I’m so glad you guys are ok. And yes, just about everyone has a breakdown in a fast food restruant parking lot at one time or another. I hope the getting a new car process is smooth. And that hat is adorable!

    • Thanks! It’s a really easy pattern and I’ve determined that it’s a great stashbusting project. I just recently learned to knit as well as crochet now so I’m going to try a knitted version soon. And thanks for the car sentiments! It’s looking like it’s finally happening after almost a month!

  2. I can’t believe I never commented on this (especially since I’m your self proclaimed blog fangirl!) I think the notifications from your blog updates got lost in all my facebook notifications which shouldn’t be a problem now that I don’t have facebook (yay!) I am so glad everything with y’all’s car ended up working out in the end! Also, that’s my favorite picture of Eliot to date! 🙂

Let's get the Conversation Started...

