A Chapter in the Life (Ch. 14)

Good Catholic Literature:

A Guide to Jane Austen for Men Who Don’t Think They Like Jane Austen – Daniel Bearman

5 Tips for Pursuing Your Dream When You Can’t Pursue Your Dream… Yet – Carrots for Michaelmas – This post really came at the perfect time for me and spoke to me the day after I had a huge meltdown that Daniel got to come home to after a long day at school. It really touched my heart. Just go read it.

Family News

IMG_2235My darling little baby boy stuck his tongue out in the last ultrasound we had with him and it might have truly been the most adorable thing we’ve seen him do in an ultrasound! This is a profile picture of his head with a hand up by his face in case it isn’t obvious to you (which according to my husband and brother, is not easy to make out). He has such character already and seems to be always doing something interesting in there. This time, he was kicking so much during the ultrasound that my tech couldn’t keep the screen from shaking and losing his picture because of it. I think they were amused.

IMG_2224 My belly is getting quite large and uncomfortable. Typical third trimester and I’m thankful for no problems! I will say that it’s so big now that I can feel him kick and move on my legs when I’m sitting since my belly rests on them. Last ultrasound I had, Eliot was measuring 4.3 lbs at 31 weeks!

What else has been happening… Daniel is almost through with this semester of grad school and things just keep getting more and more busy for the two of us. It will be so nice to have him home so much as soon as finals are over and before Eliot gets here!

We had our friends Kristina and Cody come up and visit us and it really was one of the most enjoyable visits! Daniel still had a school day to do so we hung out at the apartment for the most part and went to the school for lunch to chat and eat (the four of us). Kristina and I then hung out at the apartment that evening while the guys went out to do manly things that make them smell rugged (smoke cigars at a cigar place). It was lovely!

My mom also came up this week to visit with me very spontaneously. She stayed for two nights and we spent a whole day sewing and crocheting together. I haven’t had a “project person” in such a long time to do DIY stuff with and my mom is in the same boat where she lives. When I used to live at home, we’d do projects together all the time. Since we don’t live in the same place anymore, this visit was so special!

DIY

IMG_2250We ended up making cute little zippered pouches (I turned one into a lunch bag for Daniel but I forgot to take a picture) and I made this little elephant for Eliot from a tutorial I found on Pinterest. I taught my mom how to crochet the Willow squares that I was doing for my recent blanket and then we went out and bought her some coordinating yarn so she could start making a blanket too! Such a special visit.

I bought some knit material that I’m hoping to turn into some little baby caps for Eliot and other various babies that are coming into the world. Also a Pinterest tutorial I found! I have so many projects in mind lately.

This week has been a tough pregnancy week with the hormones and the exhaustion. I’ve taken a nap almost every day this week (due to the fact that I’ve been unable to sleep) but I’m trying not to be too negative about it. I hate to act like pregnancy is horrible because it’s such a blessing! A tremendous blessing that many people don’t get to enjoy and I never want to seem ungrateful. It’s just exhausting sometimes. I can tell my body is getting ready for labor as things are beginning to change drastically so I suppose it’s to be expected! I’m really beginning to count down the days to when I get to meet my little boy on the day of his choosing and I can’t believe I’ve been entrusted with something so precious and huge.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “A Chapter in the Life (Ch. 14)

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your pregnancy insomnia, that is no fun at all!! And (not that my permission means anything) but I think its okay to voice the difficulties that come with pregnancy, it IS hard and exhausting, and saying so doesn’t detract anything from people who had different crosses to bear at the moment. I hope you get some relief, sleep, and a break from the crazy hormones, those are no fun either! But its true, in about 9 weeks your life is going to change in the best most wonderful way ever and it is such a GOOD thing!

    • I appreciate veteran mom encouragement! I feel blessed through your words.

      It is really starting to feel so real, amazing, and scary (as we entered into the month of May and I realized that there is only ONE more 1st of the month before he comes)! Im looking forward to it so much though. Having a first baby is SUCH an overwhelming experience but in a good way.

Let's get the Conversation Started...

