A Chapter in the Life (Ch. 13)

Good Catholic Literature

Stop Trying to Change Your Boyfriend – To the Heights – Olivia nailed it! Don’t you love it when someone so eloquently writes something that echoes so deeply in your own heart? Because I do. 

A Homemade Holy Water Font for your Home – All for Heaven’s Sake – IMG_2136I was trying to remember if I had posted this link already but I think this one was posted after my last Chapter in a Life post. Amy was such a sweetheart that she sent a wonderfully cheerful package all the way from Canada with left over supplies (and a gift for Eliot) so that I could make my own Holy Water Font!! I don’t know if I can describe how loved that made me feel–but all of that is beside the point. This is a great resource and Amy did a wonderful job with her Holy Water Fonts! Check her out if you haven’t already taken a look-see at her blog.

Family News

IMG_2088Poor Cooper… I don’t know what to say about this troublemaker. He and I took a tumble down our stairs a few weeks back and after brushing off my bruised knees and scraped hands, Daniel and I thanked God that neither mother or baby was seriously hurt in the tumble, grumbled a bit at the impatient dog (who, by the way, refuses to be restrained with any manner of dog collar contraption whenever I walk him), and went on about life. A few days later though, Cooper had developed a major limp and upon inspecting his poor little paw, we found it quite bloody. Fortunately, I had already scheduled a vet visit for the following day, and when we took him in, Daniel said that he cried and yelped like nobody’s business when they tried to clean the paw. We then spent a lovely Saturday date sitting in the vet’s office waiting for our little mess to wake up from his sedatives and they informed us that he was all set, but had probably gotten a piece of glass stuck in it during the fall that had splice him up. As of now, he’s much better and no longer hopping along on three legs!

IMG_2095Baby Eliot is growing rapidly and kicking away at 29 weeks! I just adore feeling his little feet or fists and feeling him adjust in my belly. Daniel reads “Daddaddyslullabydy’s Lullaby” to him almost every night and sings the lullaby at the end (lately I’ve been falling asleep before he even gets there). Eliot has come to recognize not only Daniel’s voice, but will be quiet until the lullaby, and then kick a few times during the song (which is ironic because the song is all about going to sleep). Daniel has also been learning that if he scratches my belly a specific way, it wakes the little guy up and he will move and dance around in my belly! It’s such a sweet thing to see those two interact already!

And as you can see in the bump picture, I chopped my hair off. I really wondered if I would like it short, but have been loving it being down every day and not a mess! No more sock buns for me for a while!

Our friends, Mia and Joe, came to visit recently and we enjoyed a very nice pancake breakfast (thanks to my sweetie) and exchanged birthday/baby shower gifts. It made me really look forward to the end of this trimester so our little family can travel a little more to see such special friends! I’m really looking forward to their wedding in May even if I will be quite unsightly at that point. More to love in the pictures! Haha.

IMG_2063I may be nerding out way too much with our child on the dragon obsession… At least I know Eliot’s friends won’t have the same comforting plush character as him (courtesy of my cousin who so lovingly crocheted a dragon for him). Is it confusing for a child to learn all about Saint George and also grow up with a love of dragons? Never mind, I don’t wanna know… I’ll content myself to know that I grew up loving Smaug and HE was a pretty bad dragon.

Mia also made this mom super gleeful to have a Game of Thrones inspired painting. Fun fact: Before I realized I was pregnant and since it was October, I was planning on going to work as Daenerys Targaryen from the tv GoT series and then a few days before Halloween (i.e. the day all my coworkers dress up super nerdy), we discovered that we were expecting our own little baby dragon. And then I REALLY felt like I should go as Daenerys, but alas, I didn’t want to spend the money on the costume when I knew we would have added expenses coming up in the next nine months.

DIY

IMG_2057This is the embroidery piece I’ve been working on intermittently whilst trying to finish up the never ending blanket for my brother. It was a fun stitch up and I did like adding all the color! I just want to embroider lots of flowers now though, and I don’t know what to do with that… I’m not a huge floral person (although I love having real flowers all over the house) and tea towels have never been my jam.

IMG_2091And this is the previously mentioned never ending blanket (which only needs a border now whenever I can get to the craft store to pick up the last skein). The last bit of it is honestly like pulling teeth to make myself do it! I don’t really know why that is…

IMG_2128That hasn’t stopped me from testing out a granny square pattern that I thought I would enjoy doing for blanket for myself! I was thinking lots of whites, teals, blues, and lavenders and making each square two toned? I really need to test out one more square though to work out the kinks in the pattern before I set to work on the real ones.

Thanks for being a part of my Chapter in a Life posts and please remember you can find me on Pinterest to view the latest things that float through my head at night when I’m trying to fall asleep.

Peace be with you all!

Hannah

3 thoughts on “A Chapter in the Life (Ch. 13)

  1. I love your hair! I hadn’t even noticed in your instagram pictures that you had cut it. It’s super cute! I’m so envious of people who can do the short hair thing…I chopped all my hair off about 2 and a half years ago into a bob like hairdo. I loved it, but it took forever to get through the my hair’s not short enough to look good down anymore but not long enough to put up in any hairdo. I digress…I LOVE your hair!

    I’m so jealous of your little holy water fount! I showed Joe and he laughed….I’m not sure he’s into turning our future home into a mini-Catholic sanctuary. I’m still trying to get him to put up a small shelf to serve as a mini-altar for all my religious statues and pictures. I need my embroidered St. Michael to be next to some friends! 😉

    I love your crocheted stuff! I wish I crocheted more. I’ve been considering making a quilt since I have one of those fabric sample books with all the different patterns. I figure it’d make a cool quilt!

  2. Oh, I also love the blog, “Stop Trying to Change Your Boyfriend.” I never really had a list, but there are things I just expected all along to not be problems, and everyday is a struggle dealing with them and reminding myself Joe is everything I never even thought to expect from a man. For example, everyday dealing with him not eating what I cook is a struggle, mainly because my eating habits have deteriorated because of it. Would I trade all his amazing qualities for the quality of eating better? Absolutely not. I got super lucky, and if that’s the worst thing I have to deal with in my life with him, then bring it on.

    • Thanks, Mia! Short hair is fun! As Catholic and reverent of a guy as he is, I think it took Daniel a couple of years to get used to the different religious things I would do to the apartment. Plus he was just telling me yesterday that when I converted, my only support group at the time was the blogs that I followed, he says that I don’t realize that I’m kind of intense about Catholic culture and I do things that most Catholic homes don’t even think about. I never realized that until he said it, but I suppose I do! The reasons that I have different Catholic items and objects all over the house though is because it really helps to remind me of my faith, it helps me to concentrate on the spiritual during quiet time (less distractions), and generally adds an element of peace to my home when I can get so crazy caught up in trying to make it a scene out of better homes and gardens (which stresses me out like nothing else can). I guess that means that a very big portion of myself is visually stimulated?

      Your quilt sounds really neat! So it’s a quilt sampler book with different quilt blocks to do? I love quilts, and I was thinking that one of those easy quilts with exposed seams that you end up doing a “rag effect” with would be handy for picnics! I need a picnic quilt eventually, because Daniel and I only ever use a cheap fleece throw that has NO cushion whatsoever and just doesn’t make a good picnic blanket. We want to take Eliot on strolls and picnics every weekend that the weather permits when he gets here so I’ll need to make one soon!

Let's get the Conversation Started...

