A Chapter in a Life (Ch. 7)

Good Catholic Literature

Harry Potter, Dumbledore’s Mercy, and the Triumph of the Holy Cross – Carrots for Michaelmas 

But Have I Fasted Yet – Better Than Eden – This was a really good post by Mary at one of my favorite blogs and it really educated my baby Catholic mind about fasting and prayer! 

Woodsmoke, Beer, and Confession – Clan Donaldson 

Family News

Okay, I have some crazy news to share with you guys… I don’t know if you’re going to be able to take it.

I mean, it’s really incredible news. I was shocked when I found out!

Are you ready?

Okay, so—-I just don’t know if you’re ready.

Maybe you should sit down… after all, what kind of crazy person reads the internet whilst standing up?

Okay, so—-You know, maybe you should also put your seat belt on, because your world is about to be turned UPSIDE DOWN.

Okay, so—-FINE, STOP YELLING AT ME AND I’LL JUST SAY IT!

Or say it with a picture at least.

coffeetogether

*Gasp*

Two cups of coffee! I know, right?! It’s crazy!!! I told you it was going to be some jaw dropping news. You really should have heeded my warning, sat down, and strapped in.

And no, his is not the one that is “loaded down with cream and sugar” in the flowery latte mug. (*ahem* thanks for forcing me to be clear about that, brother!)

Okay, so after the news that Daniel now drinks coffee, I really feel like anything else I have to tell you won’t live up to the excitement of the first bomb I dropped on you guys. I mean, getting a job is nothing compared to Daniel expanding his taste and being able to ENJOY A CUP OF COFFEE WITH ME IN THE MORNING. Seriously, it’s better than winning the lottery. *contented sigh*

But yes, I got a job, and I love it! I work at a bookstore and it’s awesome! Who doesn’t like books?! I’m learning so much at this place and it brings me such great joy to be around beautifully covered books and being responsible for their care. Is it weird to love books? Or call a book beautiful? Sometimes they are so pretty I could cry.

DIY

embroidery

This is happening when I get home from work each night. I just love the blue! It’s a Jack Johnson song and I’m hoping to make a cute little throw pillow for my couch that I’m sure my cat will destroy at some point in my future.

Becoming a Better Reader

Daniel’s been helping me with “Mr. Norrell” at the end of the day. He is such a sweet husband and he’ll take fifteen minutes of his own individual time after homework at night to read to me when my eyes are tired. Granted, I think he has to read the same passage over and over because I end up falling asleep after about ten minutes, but I can’t help it! I’m so relaxed and comforted by the sound of his reading voice! I guess we’re making slow progress though.

I’m also reading The Story of a Soul based upon a recommendation from a kind family friend, and I’m only on chapter two, but it is so good! Wow, St. Thérèse of Lisieux is so profound and ordinary at the same time. Does that even make sense? I think I may have a new Saint to add to the list of inspirations for my life.

Not to mention, I’m still working on The Little Oratory. If only I could be the kind of person that starts only one book, finishes it, and then starts another one… #toomanybookstoolittletime

I have a moderately long commute to work now, so I think I might start investing in Books on CD. Is that cheating?

2 thoughts on “A Chapter in a Life (Ch. 7)

  1. It is not weird to love books. Or to call them beautiful. If I had a job outside my home, I would want it to be in a book store. Or maybe a library (I was a forensic/prison psychologist before having kids. . . talk about NOT beautiful!). Story of a Soul is such a wonderful book! And I too am trying to work through The Little Oratory. There are so many books I want to read and just not enough time in my day!

    • Thanks!
      Oh wow, yeah! That’s tough work! I can’t even imagine how hard that must have been.
      I never get bored around those beautiful books! It’s like a treasure hunt while I work.
      It really is, I’m enjoying it so much! I wish I had a hard copy (I’ve been reading it on my Kindle app on my computer since it was free) and I’ve been keeping an eye out at the bookstore, but so far, no luck.
      Maybe there should be a support group for people who have book lists that are much too large… I definitely fall into that category!

Let's get the Conversation Started...

