A Chapter in a Life (Ch. 6)

It’s been a long month. I’m sad there have been no Chapter in a Life posts for a while but I do hope you enjoyed my reflections on life, the definition of my blog title, or my trousers to skinnies post (tutorial included)! Let’s jump in, shall we?

Good Catholic Literature

27 Books for Your Mass Bag (And Tips for Dealing with Your Little Ones in Mass)Carrots for MichaelmasHaley gave some good advice for juggling kids in Mass and suggested some great kid reads! I am not yet a parent, but I just couldn’t help loving this post. It’s also part of a series and she lists links at the end of the post to the other educational posts.

8 Tips for Taming the Laundry Beast (or I don’t hate laundry and maybe you don’t have to either) – Better Than Eden – Mary wrote an inspirational post about… laundry! I love posts like this, which take your mundane everyday tasks and help you to have a better perspective on them. 

Love Story, Part 1The Fike LifeBlythe split up her own personal love story between herself and her husband into four posts. If you like that sort of thing, you will love these posts! I adore personal journal style posts from my favorite bloggers, and so this was an easy favorite in the link lineup! The Fike Life is a relatively new blog to me and I’m really loving Blythe’s tone of blogging! I’m a little fangirl (also, how adorable is her new header on her blog). 

Family News

On one fine, breezy afternoon, Daniel and I found ourselves on a romantic picnic date at the Nasher Sculptural Garden. Apparently, the Nasher provides one free event a month where families can bring their crew and picnic on the lawn in their quaint little garden. It’s free to get in, and they hire a local band to play for a couple of hours, and then once the sun goes down, they play a family friendly movie on a projector! Daniel and I went for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and although we did not stay for the movie, we had a blast!

image

image

The lights were just so pretty! Also, who is a fan of my new camel shirt? I think I’ll wear it on Wednesdays…

image

Daniel had his first week of Grad school and I think it went very well! I really can’t believe how I managed to marry such a smart guy! He impresses and inspires me all the time with his academic achievements. I’ve been sitting in the lobby many days while he practices, attends class, and does homework. It’s not as cute as you think. I’m actually going with him for selfish reasons. I don’t like to stay home all day alone and I don’t know anyone here yet, so I practically begged Daniel to let me come sit in the lobby to work on Job Applications. It’s quite a change to actually desire the ability to be around people! My natural introversion usually works the opposite way and I can’t wait to get home.

image

If you follow me on Instagram, you have probably seen the above picture. I made delicious Mediterranean Chicken the other night and was actually quite proud of the presentation. Generally, my dishes look a little less “restaurant” and a little more “crock-pot.” (Nothing against crock-pots here, though. Mine is definitely a life saver on occasion!) This dish did taste delicious though and between the husband and a close friend, it’s been nominated to stay on the repeat dinner list.

image

Lastly, Daniel and I got to attend Phantom of the Opera at the Opera House in Dallas and it was just phenomenal! I’ve been to see phantom twice before and this time it was special for two reasons. One: This was Daniel’s first time seeing Phantom and any kind of Musical Theatre since he was a child. Two: They changed a bunch of sets (new sets are fantastic, by the way), introduced new costumes, and even some of the lines were different. I found myself pleasantly surprised and amused by the new stuff! I impatiently flounced out the door with a beautiful dress that was given to me and a head full of curls (not to mention some dramatic red lipstick) and enjoyed being a diva for the night. Bonus points — Daniel loved it!

DIY

image

I enjoyed turning another pair of thrifted pants into classy skinnies and I’m pleased to say that I’ll be able to dress these ones up even more than my green ones. They look great with heels, if I do say so myself. I’ve worn them everywhere already! Unlike store bought skinnies, they aren’t cutting off circulation or making me look gross, and the pockets can actually hold stuff (am I the only one who gets angry at the tiny pockets that are almost always found in women’s jeans?).

I just love how a couple of simple seams can turn a “blah” pair of pants into something you would find in New York and Company. *Psssttt* These were only $1.50 and they are from The Loft!

Becoming a Better Reader

image

A couple weeks ago, I started “Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell” and I have to say, I’m really enjoying it! It reads like an Austen novel, but the content is much different. The two men in question are magicians. That’s all I will say about it as I am only a hundred pages into it. (#800pagenovel)

Faith and Spiritual Reflections

image

I couldn’t decide if I should put this in the reading section or the faith section, because it is both. Just recently, this book arrived in the mail and I couldn’t wait to open it! It is such a great read that my bath water got cold due to time passing rapidly without my notice! As a convert, this book is especially wonderful. It explains a lot of history and culture behind how we are to pray as Catholics, and has a lot of practical advice about how to make your own Little Oratory (and the reason we should have one!). My tiny little review is nothing to this awesomeness that is the book, so if you really want to find out about it, I suggest picking up your own copy and just reading it! Seriously, it’s amazing!

That’s it for this post. Thanks for reading my Chapter in a Life posts. Remember, you can find me on Pinterest to see my latest interests!

– Hannah

4 thoughts on “A Chapter in a Life (Ch. 6)

  1. Hannah,
    Yes to the camel shirt on Wednesdays (I see what you did there)! Good luck to Daniel; what is he studying?
    I think I’ll be in the same boat as you next year when C continues graduate studies as far as being in a new place and knowing approximately zero people. Haha.
    I love Phantom! I have yet to see it performed but it’s at the top of the list. The Little Oratory is at the top of my to read/purchase list as well. It seems like such a good investment.
    Totally get you on the ages-since-posting thing. Definitely in a writing rut over here too. 😉

    • Haley,
      Good to hear from you! Thanks for commenting.
      Daniel is studying Piano Pedagogy and so far, he’s really loving it! He’s getting to learn with some of the most current research and best teachers on the subject, and for two little nerds like us, there’s always lots to talk about. What does C study? Moving to a new place is so exciting but I think the outcome generally comes in a bittersweet way. Not knowing anyone can be so lonely. However, until you get to the point of having new friends, it gives you and your significant other a perfect opportunity to really draw close to each other. I’m so thankful for our first move a week after we got married, because it really helped us to grow together with no distractions.

      My middle brother hasn’t seen it yet either (plus he’s a huge fan of the movie) and I found that out the day of the performance. I felt kind of guilty enjoying the Phantom for the third time, so, needless to say, I’m dragging him to see it the next time! I highly recommend it.

      Oh, it is! I hardly ever buy the books I really want (and I see coming with great reviews from some of these awesome bloggers) but this one was a must for me. This book has a plethora of knowledge and wisdom on keeping a prayerful home! It’s definitely a good investment.

      I absolutely love your blogs, by the way. You write so passionately and with such inspiration!
      Writing ruts can be so discouraging. I’ve started keeping a list of post ideas in my phone so that I don’t forget them as they come to me! I have such a terrible memory and I will generally have an inspiring thought/idea while I am out somewhere, but if I don’t write it down, I forget by the time I get home. I also have been making myself post even when I get insecure that no one will want to read it. If nothing else, I remind myself that I’ll have a great little log of the early years of marriage for myself when I want to look back on it. Memory fades, but keeping a journal of some sort can bring it all back.

      • Piano Pedagogy sounds cool! My sponsor would probably be totally into that kind of thing if she were not doing library science. How long has Daniel played piano?

        C is studying Philosophy. He has a MA so far and is looking to continue to the PhD next Fall which, without some miraculous change in departments nearby, will likely require a half-across-the-country move. Moving can be exciting for the reasons you mention: new environment, growing closer to your spouse/S.O.; but as much as being lonely sucks, I think there’s a bit of excitement in not knowing anyone, sometimes. You can start something new. I think it also motivates me to get rid of a lot of clutter in my life (literal objects and bad routines). But yeah, friends at some point is probably a good idea. 😉

        My bff in middle school was obsessed with Phantom. Watching it 106 times during the Summer after 7th grade obsessed. We probably annoyed her parents singing the same songs over and over again, but it’s sooooo good. I argued the Phantom had a narcissistic disorder in my intro psych class. I feel like you could do a huge, extensive character study of the main characters and never get bored.

        I’ve only read a little about TLO, but everything has been incredibly positive. I imagine it is the perfect book for newlywed Catholic convert women, which obviously would be of interest to us (at least soon, on my part). I intend to make it a staple in my home right next to Bon Appetit Desserts (genius kitchen book).

        Thank you for the blog love! 🙂 I don’t usually feel weird about “will people want to read this?;” instead I feel weird about “am I saying what I really want to here?” I of course want to balance being articulate with coming across as more charitable than I often am in my head, but I don’t want to fall into the trap of sounding or being lukewarm. Some of my posts are going to be call-to-action while others will have me rambling about things that probably belong in a locked journal, but I at least want it to be honest and in some way beneficial.

        I also think it helps to take note of how much I am blogging because if there’s a lull in posting, it often aligns with a lull in whatever I deem to be “progress” in my life. So looking at my blogging history sometimes tells me “Hey, maybe you should do something exciting/interesting/worthwhile with your life. You’re in a rut like whoa.” TMI? IDK.

        FYI: This reply was longer than some of my philosophy papers. Oops…

        • Wow, I had no idea there was such a thing as Library Science before now (just not something I ever thought about). That sounds very interesting though!

          Daniel has played since he was a child (I think he might be going on 13 or 14 years now?). It was more of a hobby of his as a child. Piano playing is actually what afforded us the time to get to know each other as we participated in an Ensemble Convention every year where we played duets as each other’s partners. It was basically at the end of the last Convention we did together where our friendship turned into something deeper. What’s ironic about the whole thing is that (a year before I graduated High School) I was serious about continuing my education in Piano. I wanted to study it seriously while Daniel didn’t really know if he wanted to study it. We honestly flip-floped as soon as graduation came. He decided that he wanted to study it seriously, and I decided that I did NOT want to study it. Weird, huh?

          Oh Philosophy! Daniel actually loves philosophy too and he’s always growing my mind and teaching me stuff I didn’t know in relation to it. That’s really awesome! And I TOTALLY agree with you on “starting something new”, and “de-cluttering the bad habits.” Change can be a really good thing. Would you guys rather move or stay if you had the choice? I am fortunate to only be a few hours from my family so I don’t know what I would be like if I had to move far away!

          Oh my goodness, I often feel like we are of the same mind when I read your stuff. Just now, when you said “am I saying what I want I really want to” I just had to nod along in agreement. I value honesty so much and have had a hard time posting anything because I hate offending people. Having a balance between honesty and charity can be so difficult when blogging (Haley from Carrots is my role model in “blogging tone”). I guess I naturally fall more to the charity side of things and when I started this blog, I started it with the determination to always be honest here (even if it is stuff that is hard to be honest about). I understand exactly what you mean about “lukewarm” and Daniel and I talk about that all the time in hopes that we will not fall into the trap of it.

          Again, I agree wholeheartedly with your “lull” theory. I often feel the same way. Sometimes it can be due to a “busy life” but often it is due to what you said.

          Haha, that’s what comment boxes are for. No worries! I have really enjoyed getting to know you better! I really feel like we must be cut of the same cloth.

Let's get the Conversation Started...

