Life in the Attic

Let me explain what I mean about “living in an attic,” but don’t be alarmed if you wonder during this post about the pathways of my brain and how I get from one topic to the next… It’s okay, I’ve always been strange. In my world, we call what I’m about to do “rabbit trails.”

This past weekend, my husband and I attended several different lectures on homesteading, sustainability, and the like. We are not at the point in our lives where we have a spacious bit of land to work on or much space inside for hobbies even, but someday, we hope to be blessed with that. There were demonstrations on sheep sheering, weaving and spinning, plowing, training sheep dogs, goat care, and more. There were lectures on beekeeping, backyard chickens (someday!), spinning wool, gardening, and one that grabbed my husband’s attention was on sustainable energy alternatives. I figured it would be way over my head, but we skipped on over to the lecture anyway. I was very much intrigued when most of the talk was on insulating your home to cut down on energy costs! That got me thinking about our apartment and why we always have to have the window unit running. A/C in the summer, heat in the winter! And then it made more sense…

…rabbit trail…

 

We live in an apartment that used to be an attic or storage area, and when the complex turned it into an apartment, they slapped some wooden flooring, windows, and paint on the walls, and quaintly called it a “bungalow.” As you can imagine, it does little to keep out the elements. The floor feels like ice in the morning and before we requested a new door, the old one had cracks in it where rain and cold air would come in. Our apartment isn’t the least bit insulated against the elements. Now that you understand what I mean by the attic…

…rabbit trail…

I can finally get to the topic of this post! It’s not on attics or housing insulation… It’s actually about the random excerpts of our life this Fall and things we’ve been doing.

Sometime around the beginning of September, end of August, Daniel and I took in a new addition to our “land ark” and adopted a kitty. We didn’t mean to, really, it’s just that she crept into our hearts when she started coming to us when we called her outside. Let me start over… she was a stray, hanging around for months. We asked around and could not find her owner. Every morning when I left for work, I would see her on a neighbor’s car, sound asleep and absorbing the warmth of one of the tires. We eventually started giving her some food because she was so skinny and friendly. Well, being our little pet outside, we named her, and from that point, she was ours. Whenever we’d call her after coming home from work, she’d come careening around the corner and race up our stairs two at a time. She was still cautious around us, but friendly. After talking about if we could manage it, I took her to the vet, got her checked out and made sure she was healthy. The vet said that she most likely was adopted by a college student in town, and when the student’s parents found out, they just dumped her outside (she said it happens all the time in a college town). She was only nine months! But score for us, she was spayed already, and honestly the sweetest addition we’ve ever had. Sadly, our two beta fish did not think so… Soon after, they both died.

Image

ImageImage

During October, Daniel and I found some time during our crazy schedules to meet up with our couple friends and had an evening of pumpkin carving. Somehow, I had never actually carved a pumpkin and was dying to try it. I’ve seen such beautiful ones in previous autumns. Of course, I worked myself into a frenzy about it, drank a lot of coffee, picked out two fat and round pumpkins, and set to work! Daniel was on board to carve pumpkins but he left the design up to me. I knew I had a total of fifteen minutes to let my ambitious heart run rampant to be able to sell the design to him (if I could draw it, we could carve it) by the time he got out of the shower to go to our friends place. I browsed the web furiously until I found the images I wanted, and then grabbed a sheet of paper. I free handed a design based off of the picture on the internet and by the time Daniel was ready to go, I proudly held up my design and I’m not sure if it was the crazy lady rambling in his face about our awesome pumpkin while he was trying to get dressed or the stubborn look in my eyes that made him smile and say “sure, honey.” (I have a habit of being overly ambitious in my projects

 and sometimes they turn out well, other times—well, they flop like a dead frog.

We managed to do it though, and with some extra superglue to mend St. Michael’s arm and the Scales of Justice which fell off during the finishing touches, our pumpkin truly was awesome.

The exciting event of November happened a couple of weeks ago. Daniel and I had been planning on going to the Renaissance festival during the highland weekend, going all out and dressing up in our best Scottish garb, but alas, “life happened” as they say. We decided it was not in our budget this year and canceled the trip. Daniel, being the wonderful guy that he is, made some magic happen and surprised me with the trip after all!

Image

Even though we were not dressed in the costumes we had wanted to be in, we had a blast. It was my first time going to a renaissance festival and of course, the way I was raised—reveling in medieval times, pretending I was a character in Tolkien’s amazing novels, studying historic apparel, and crafting my heart out, I knew I would love it. It did not disappoint even in spite of walking around in thirty degree rainy weather! Some of the vendors there surprised me with their expert craftsmanship. The furniture, hairpieces, and some of their jewelry just astonished me and the vendors themselves turned me into a giddy little girl as I listened to them call out their wares in character. 

2 thoughts on “Life in the Attic

  1. I thought my husband was the only one who knew the “Sure, honey” look!
    That is an awesome pumpkin, I must say. The ones I’ve done are always of the triangle-eyes, triangle-nose variety.

    We’re also very interested in homesteading someday… he grew up on a farm, so he’s got a lot of know-how. We stopped into a Farm-and-Fleet type place yesterday and I saw a really cute chicken coop (can a chicken coop be cute? Well, I thought this one was, anyways), and got all excited!! We’ve been looking at houses (YIKES) with enough land so we could maybe have horses… we’ll see. It’s a huge decision. And really expensive. And super scary to me.

    I’m just hopping over from Carrots- loved your post! And as you can tell, I’m a bit of a rabbit-trailer myself.

    Now I’m imagining a car trailer shaped like a rabbit.

    • Thank you! I often am too ambitious for my own good… I’m glad that the pumpkin turned out, otherwise I might not have ever carved another pumpkin for fear of a repeat incident!

      Oh yes, I understand the scary aspect! We’re not quite to the “making decisions” part yet, but we’re keeping our dreams alive! That’s so cool that you have in-house farm expertise! I’m afraid we’ll be coming from it like two city dwellers…

      Your comment made me chuckle! You are very like minded. Thank you for commenting! You made my night!

Let's get the Conversation Started...

